Share If You Like The Article

Tirunelveli Collector Shilpa Prabhakar Satish inspecting a counting centre in Palayamkottai on Tuesday.

Polls in Nanguneri, Vikravandi, Kamaraj Nagar due on Oct. 21

Nominations for bypolls to Nanguneri, Vikravandi and Kamaraj Nagar Assembly constituencies were scrutinised on Tuesday.

Of the 46 nominations filed for Nanguneri constituency, 24 were accepted and 22 rejected.

Among others, nominations including that of the Congress candidate Manoharan, AIADMK’s V. Narayanan, and Naam Tamilar Katchi’s Raja Narayanan and other independents were accepted.

For the Vikravandi byelection, of the 28 nominations 15 were accepted and 13 rejected.

The papers of AIADMK nominee M.R. Muthamizhselvan, DMK’s N. Pugazhenthi, Naam Tamilar Katchi candidate Kandasamy and Tamil Perarasu Katchi nominee and film director Gowthaman were accepted.

As for the Kamaraj Nagar Assembly constituency, nominations of 11 candidates were accepted. Out of the 18 nominations filed, seven were rejected.

Those who are in fray are: S. Bouvanesvarane (All India N.R. Congress), A. John Kumar (Congress) , S. Govindaraj (Agila India Makkal Kazhagam), T. Devika and M. Praveena (both Naam Tamilar Katchi), R. Barthassarady (People Liberation Party) and S. Lenin alias Kalimuthu (Socialist Unity Centre of India).

The last date for withdrawal of nomination is October 3.

Share If You Like The Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *