Defending champions Chennai Super Kings open IPL 2024 on XX.Defending champions Chennai Super Kings open IPL 2024 on XX.
Share If You Like The Article

The BCCI unveiled the eagerly awaited schedule for IPL 2024, revealing the first 21 matches to be played over 15 days. The excitement kicks off with MS Dhoni’s Chennai Super Kings facing off against Virat Kohli’s Royal Challengers in the opening match on March 22. Due to the IPL coinciding with India’s general elections, only the initial fixtures have been disclosed, with the final yet to be confirmed.

The first fortnight promises a thrilling lineup, featuring four IPL double-headers on Saturdays and Sundays. The action-packed schedule sees all 10 franchises launching their campaigns within the opening week itself. The excitement begins as the Delhi Capitals take on the Punjab Kings, followed by the Kolkata Knight Riders battling the Sunrisers Hyderabad in the inaugural double-header.

Sunday’s fixtures include the Rajasthan Royals facing off against the Lucknow Super Giants, followed by the Gujarat Titans locking horns with the Mumbai Indians, marking a face-off between the new MI captain and his former team and teammate, Shubman Gill.

In a surprising turn of events, the Delhi Capitals will play two of their home games at Visakhapatnam’s Dr. YS Rajashekar Reddy ACA-VDCA International stadium instead of the Arun Jaitley Stadium in the national capital. This decision stems from the DDCA’s need for time to prepare the ground following its hosting of matches for the Women’s Premier League, including the WPL final.

The schedule is set to ignite action from the get-go, with teams facing back-to-back challenges. The Punjab Kings will debut at their new home ground in Mullanpur on March 23 before swiftly traveling to Bangalore to take on RCB on March 25. Similarly, the Titans, under the leadership of Gill, will embark on their journey with a match on March 24 before heading to Chepauk to clash with CSK on March 26.

This initial phase will witness rapid movement, with some teams engaging in a series of matches. The Capitals, Titans, and RCB are slated to play five matches each, while KKR enjoys a slightly lighter schedule with three games. Other franchises will partake in four matches, promising an electrifying and competitive start to the season.

Share If You Like The Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *